Council of Architecture (COA)

Set up in 1972 under the provisions of the Architects Act, the Council of Architecture (COA) provides for registration of architects, standards of education, recognized qualifications and standards of practice to be complied with by the practicing architects. 

Functions of COA

The Council of Architecture (COA) is responsible for:
  • Regulating the education and practice of profession throughout India
  • Maintaining the register of Architects. Any one willing to pursue 'Architecture' as a profession will have to register with the Council of Architecture (COA).
  • Keeping the Central Government informed of the standards being maintained by the institutions
  • Gives recommendations to the Government of India with regard to recognition and de-recognition of a qualification.

In order to  practice as an architect, one must possess a requisite qualification as per the Architects Act, after having undergone the education in accordance with the Council of Architecture (Minimum Standards of Architectural Education) Regulations, 1983.If any person falsely claims to be registered or misuses title and style of architect, such acts tantamount to committing of a criminal offence, which is punishable under section 36 or 37 (2) of the Architects Act, 1972.

Institutions Imparting Architecture Education

There are about 423 institutions, which impart architectural education in India leading to recognized qualifications. The Council of Architecture governs the standards of education being imparted in these institutions (constituent colleges/departments of universities, deemed universities, affiliated colleges/schools, IITs, NITs and autonomous institutions). It also governs the minimum requirement of eligibility for admission, course duration, standards of staff & accommodation, course content, examination etc. These standards as should be maintained by the institutions. The COA oversees the maintenance of the standards periodically by way of conducting inspections through Committees of Experts. 


National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) is conducted by the Council of Architecture. It is a Common Aptitude Test in Architecture, at national level to provide a single window system for appearing in aptitude test for those interested in pursuing Architecture. It also facilitates students for admission to First year of 5 year B.Arch Degree Course at all recognized Institutions all over country.

NATA facilitates prospective students to apply for admissions in architecture in institutions all over the country. NATA also ensures that the eligibility criteria for admission to five year Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) degree course, as prescribed by CoA and duly approved by the Central Government, are strictly adhered to and followed all over the country in Architectural Institutions.

The aptitude test measures drawing and observation skills, sense of proportion, aesthetic sensitivity and critical thinking ability, that have been acquired over a long period of time, and that are related to specific field of study, i.e. Architecture.

Council of Architecture
India Habitat Centre, Core 6A, 1st Floor,
Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110003 India
Tel: +91-11-49412100 (30 Lines)
Fax: +91-11-24647746

Connect me with the Top Colleges