Indian Amateur Boxing Federation

The Indian Amateur Boxing Federation was founded on 25th February 1949 mainly due to the efforts of Mr. H.V.Pointon who was the President of the Bombay Presidency Amateur Boxing federation from 1944 to 1948. Mr.Oscar H.Brown, C.I.E., O.B.E,Bar-at-Law, who was the Chairman of this meeting and who was also the President of the Bombay Presidency Amateur Boxing federation was duly elected as the first President of the Indian Amateur Boxing federation. Major Baker was elected as the Secretary of the IABF at this meeting.
The first ever National Championship were held at the Brabourne Stadium in Bombay in March 1950.

The Bengal Amateur Boxing federation played a major role in the early years of the IABF and some of the better boxers during that period came from their region. In the first two years the IABF had only eight states as affiliated members. These were Bombay, Madras, C.P & Berar, Gujarat, Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Hyderabad, Madhya Pradesh, Railways and Airways.

The Indian Amateur Boxing Federation's history of 52 years involves a past which is something to be proud of. 48 years of Senior national championships, 35 of Junior & 15 of Sub-Juniors, participation in meets winning many International laurels including Asia's Best Boxer award, Arjuna, Dronacharya and two Padmashree Awards.

Click here for IABF, Code of conduct

Indian Amateur Boxing Federation
Room No 2,IInd Floor, Palika Place,Panchkuian Road, 
Near R K Ashram Metro Station, New Delhi-110001 
Contact: 919555747333, 011-23743560 Fax 011-23743561

Connect me with the Top Colleges