Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs)

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are autonomous public institutes of higher education governed by the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961. They have been declared as institutions of national importance and lays down their powers, duties, and framework for governance etc. The first IIT was set up in Kharagpur in 1951, and then in Bombay (1958), Madras (1959), Kanpur (1959) and Delhi (1963).

The IITs have a common admission process for undergraduate admission. The Joint Entrance Examination - Advanced (JEE Advanced) is admission criteria for Under Graduate Admissions in Engineering and Sciences.  The post-graduate level program that awards M.Tech., MS degrees, and the doctoral programme that offers Ph.D. in engineering is administered by the older IITs.  M.Tech. and MS admissions are done on the basis of Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE). Additionally, IITs also award other graduate degrees such as M.Sc in Maths, Physics and Chemistry, MBA, M.Des etc. Admission to these programs of IITs are done through Common Admission Test (CAT), Joint Admission Test for M.Sc. (JAM) and Common Entrance Examination for Design (CEED).

Connect me with the Top Colleges