National Trust Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

The National Trust is a statutory body of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India, set up under the “National Trust for the Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities” Act.

An inclusive society which values human diversity and enables and empowers full participation of Persons with Disability to live independently with dignity, equal rights and opportunities.


The National Trust works towards providing opportunities for capacity development of Persons with Disability and their families, fulfilling their rights, facilitating and promoting the creation of an enabling environment and an inclusive society.

The National Trust’s mission, or fundamental purpose, is to create an enabling environment, i.e. providing opportunities for Persons with Disabilities through comprehensive support systems which can also be done by collaborating with other Ministries, etc., which will lead towards development of an inclusive society.

Objectives of National Trust

The objectives of the National Trust in particular are :-
  • to enable and empower persons with disability to live as independently and as fully as possible within and as close to their community as possible;
  • to facilitate the realisation of equal opportunities, protection of rights and full participation of persons with disability;
  • to extend support to its registered organisations to provide need based services; and
  • to evolve procedures for appointments of guardians and trustees for persons with disabilities.

Disabilities under NTA

The National Trust works for the welfare of persons with any of the following four disabilities:

  • Autism
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Mental Retardation
  • Multiple Disabilities

National Trust Schemes

DISHA (Early Intervention and School Readiness Scheme)

This is an early intervention and school readiness scheme for children in the age group of 0-10 years with the four disabilities covered under the National Trust Act and aims at setting up Disha Centres for early intervention for Person with Disability (PwD) through therapies, trainings and providing support to family members. 

VIKAAS (Day Care)

This is a day care scheme, primarily to expand the range of opportunities available to a person with disability for enhancing interpersonal and vocational skills as they are on a transition to higher age groups. The centre will also offer caregiving support to Person with Disability (PwD). In addition it also helps in supporting family members of the PwDs with disabilities covered under the National Trust Act to get some time during the day to fulfil other responsibilities. 

SAMARTH (Respite Care)

The objective of Samarth scheme is to provide respite home for orphans or abandoned, families in crisis and also for Persons with Disabilities (PwD) from BPL & LIG families including destitute with at least one of the four disabilities covered under the National Trust Act. It also aims at creating opportunities for family members to get respite time in order to fulfil other responsibilities. 

GHARAUNDA (Group Home for Adults)

The objective of Gharaunda scheme is to provide an assured home and minimum quality of care services throughout the life of the person with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities with adequate and quality care service with acceptable living standards including provision of basic medical care from professional doctors. Gharaunda Centre should provide vocational activities, pre-vocational activities and assistance for further training.

NIRAMAYA (Health Insurance Scheme)

The objective of Niramaya scheme is to provide affordable Health Insurance to persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities. All enrolled beneficiaries will get a health insurance cover of up to Rs. 1.0 lakh as defined in the chart OPD treatment including the medicines, pathology, diagnostic tests, etc, Regular Medical checkup for non-ailing disabled, Dental Preventive Dentistry, Surgery to prevent further aggravation of disability, Non- Surgical/ Hospitalization, Corrective Surgeries for existing Disability including congenital disability, Ongoing Therapies to reduce impact of disability and disability related complications, Alternative Medicine and Transportation costs.

SAHYOGI (Caregiver training scheme)

This scheme aims at setting up Caregiver Cells (CGCs) to provide training and create a skilled workforce of caregivers to provide adequate and nurturing care for Person with Disabilities (PwD) and their families who require it. It also seeks to provide parents an opportunity to get trained in caregiving if they so desire. This scheme will provide a choice of training through two levels of courses primary and advanced to allow it to create caregivers suited to work both with People with Disabilities (PwDs) families and other institutions catering to the needs of the PwDs (NGOs, work centres etc.).

GYAN PRABHA (Educational support)

Gyan Prabha scheme aims to encourage people with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities for pursuing educational/ vocational courses like graduation courses, professional courses and vocational training leading to employment or self-employment. National Trust will provide a specific amount per course to a PwD which will generally cover fees, transportation, books, out of pocket expenses (OPEs) etc.

PRERNA (Marketing Assistance)

Prerna is the marketing assistance scheme of National Trust with an objective to create viable and widespread channels for sale of products and services produced by Person with disability (PwD) covered under National Trust Act. This scheme aims at providing funds to participate in events such as exhibitions, melas, fairs, etc. to sell the products made by PwDs. The scheme also provides an incentive to the Registered Organisation (RO) based on the sales turnover of the products made by PwDs. 

SAMBHAV (Aids and Assisted Devices)

This is a scheme to setup additional resource centres, one each in each city of the country with population greater than 5 million (As per 2011 census), to collate and collect the Aids, software and other form of assistive devices developed with a provision of display and demonstration of the devices. The scheme also includes maintaining information, pertaining to aids and assistive devices present at Sambhav centre, on National Trust website. 

BADHTE KADAM (Awareness and Community Interaction)

This scheme shall support Registered Organisations (RO) of The National Trust to carry out activities that focus on increasing the awareness of The National Trust disabilities. Aims of scheme to create community awareness, sensitisation, social integration and mainstreaming of Persons with Disabilities. 

National Trust
Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
16B, Bada Bazar Road, Old Rajinder Nagar
New Delhi - 110060
Telephone: 011-43187878
Fax: 011-43187878

Connect me with the Top Colleges