University Grants Commission (UGC)

University Grants Commission (UGC) is a statutory body set up by the Government in accordance to the UGC Act 1956 under Ministry of Human Resource Development. It is entrusted with coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of higher education.  The main functions of UGC includes:
  • Providing recognition to universities in India
  • Disbursing funds to such recognised universities and colleges
  • UGC, along with CSIR conducts NET for appointments of teachers in colleges and universities

Formation of UGC

  • After Independence in 1947, the University Education Commission was set up in 1948 under the Chairmanship of Dr. S Radhakrishnan "to report on Indian university education and suggest improvements and extensions that might be desirable to suit the present and future needs and aspirations of the country". 

  • In 1952, the Union Government decided that all cases pertaining to the allocation of grants-in-aid from public funds to the Central Universities and other Universities and Institutions of higher learning should be referred to the University Grants Commission. 

  • This resulted in the formal inauguration of the by late Shri Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, the then Minister of Education, Natural Resources and Scientific Research on 28 December 1953.

Operation of UGC

For proper functioning, the UGC set up six regional centres. They are located at Pune, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Bhopal, Guwahati and Bangalore. The head office of the UGC is located in New Delhi, with two additional bureaus.

The UGC`s mandate includes: 

  • Promotes and coordinates university education.
  • Maintains standards of teaching, examination and research in universities.
  • Frames regulations on minimum standards of education.
  • Monitors developments in the field of collegiate and university education
  • Serves as a vital link between the Union and state governments and institutions of higher learning.
  • Advising the Central and State governments on the measures necessary for improvement of university education.


On behalf of UGC, the Central Board of Secondary Education announces holding of the National Eligibility Test (NET) on 08th July 2018 for determining the eligibility of Indian nationals for the Eligibility for Assistant Professor only or Junior Research Fellowship & Eligibility for Assistant Professor Both in Indian Universities and Colleges. CBSE will conduct NET in 84 subjects at 91 selected NET Examination Cities spread across the country. 

The role of CBSE is only upto the conduct of NET Examination and declaration of result. The e-certificates to qualified candidate are issued by UGC- NET Bureau. For more information, click here

For the complete list of Universities, click here

University Grants Commission (UGC) Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, 
New Delhi - 110002.
Phone: 011-23604446, 011-23604200

Connect me with the Top Colleges