Civil Services Examination (CSE)

The Civil Services Examination (CSE) makes the basis for appointment of officers  with various Government Ministries and Departments. These appointed bureaucrats are responsible to advise government on issues and problems related people of the country as well as for functioning of the government machinery.  The selected civil servants offed posts under following categories according to merit.
(i) Indian Administrative Service.
(ii) Indian Foreign Service.
(iii) Indian Police Service.
(iv) Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’.
(v) Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.
(vi) Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’.
(vii) Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.
(viii) Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’.
(ix) Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Administration).
(x) Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’.
(xi) Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.
(xii) Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’.
(xiii) Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group 'A'.
(xiv) Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’.
(xv) Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’
(xvi) Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’.
(xvii) Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’.
(xviii) Indian Trade Service, Group 'A'.
(xix) Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’.
(xx) Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade).
(xxi) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli
Civil Service, Group 'B'.
(xxii) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group 'B'.
(xxiii) Pondicherry Civil Service, Group 'B'.
(xxiv) Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’.
For selection of Civil Servants to all above posts and services Civil Services Examination (CSE) is administered every year. Though any college graduate can appear for the examination but testing is rigorous. Selected candidates are required to complete training program for the applied posts and services before final appointment with a government department.
The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) of India is administering authority for Civil Services Examination which is held in two stages; Civil Services Prelims Test / Civil Services Preliminary Examination / CSP Test AND Civil Services Main Examination in two stages Written Test & Interview.
The Civil Services Preliminary Examination is screening test to identify the seriousness in candidates if they are truly suitable to be tested for Civil Services Examination. The candidates who qualify in the screening test are called by the commission to appear for Civil Services Main Examination and merit list is prepared. Based on the All India Rank (AIR) and No. of Seats available in a given year the UPSC recommends names of candidates to government for appointment as Civil  Servants under various posts and services.
To help prospective Indian Civil Servants in application procedure and preparation for the examination we have detailed here information about the Civil Services of India and Selection Procedure.

Connect me with the Top Colleges