Indian Administrative Services

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is one of the toughest competitive exams in India. It is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for the recruitment of officers for the All India Administrative Civil Service. Indian Civil Services is not only one of the most prestigious fields but is also amongst the toughest exams clear. The Indian Administrative Service is the premier administrative civil service of the Government of India. IAS is the highest administrative post among the 24 services like IPS, IFS , IRS etc.

Scope of Civil Services in India

For young people civil services are an attractive and a challenging career and they can join as IAS, IFS or IPS officer. Even then this remains as the dream job for aspiring youngsters who desires to bring a positive change in the outlook of the Indian society. 



For the Indian Administrative Service and police service a candidate must be a citizen of India. For other services, a candidate must be either:— (a) a citizen of India, or (b) a subject of Nepal, or (c) a subject of Bhutan, or (d) a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or (e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India. Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India.


A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2018. The upper age-limit prescribed above will be relaxable: (i) up to a maximum of five years if a candidate belongs to a Scheduled Caste or a Scheduled Tribe; (ii) up to a maximum of three years in the case of candidates belonging to Other Backward Classes who are eligible to avail of reservation applicable to such candidates

Academic Qualification:

The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporate

Every candidate appearing at the examination who is otherwise eligible, shall be permitted six attempts at the examination.

Mode of examination

IAS exam consists of which consists of 3 stages  Preliminary, Mains and Interview.

The Prelims are held in May-June and the results are announced in July-August. The Main examination is held in October-November and the candidates who qualify at this stage are invited to the interview in March-April next. The final recruitment and posting of candidates depends on their ranking and the available vacancies for different posts to be filled during that particular year.

Students need to first apply for the Preliminary Examination only. Candidates who are declared by the Commission to have qualified for admission to the Main Examination will have to apply again, in the Detailed Application Form which would be supplied to them.

Connect me with the Top Colleges