NATA: National Aptitude Test in Architecture

The National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) evaluates the architectural and design skills of candidates who wish to pursue undergraduate studies in architecture. All students who wish to take admission in B.Arch. at a reputed college or institution (government aided or private) of architecture in India must sit for NATA. The test is administered twice in a year. A candidate can take either first test or second or both.

The Council of Architecture (COA) is the governing authority for architecture profession in India. Also the council has given responsibility by the government to administer National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) for admission into Under Graduate Programmes in Architecture and Design. Following given details.

NATA Eligibility Criteria

All candidates who wish to apply for NATA for pursuing a B.Arch course must be 12th pass or any equivalent examination with mathematics as one of the core subject. They should also secure atleast 50% marks in their higher secondary or class 12 board exams from a recognised university or board to appear for NATA.
The candidates with 10+3 year diploma with mathematics are also eligible to appear for the NATA test.
Reservation criteria applies according to guidelines set by the Government of India.
According to notification issued by Council of Architecture on 12th February 2019 regarding revision in eligibility norms
"No  candidate  shall  be  admitted  to  architecture  course  unless  she/  he  has  passed  an  examination  at  the end  of  the  10+2  scheme  of  examination with  at  least  50% aggregate marks  in  Physics,  Chemistry  & Mathematics  and  also  at  least  50%  marks  in  aggregate  of  the  10+2  level  examination or  passed  10+3 Diploma Examination with Mathematics as compulsory subject with at least 50% marks in aggregate."

NATA Score Validity

The NATA scores shall be valid for admission to under graduate architecture and design courses for current academic session only. NATA Results will be available through

NATA Examination Fees

Candidates willing to appear for NATA First Test or Second Test or both need to submit examination fee. NATA Application process is completely online. While filling application form candidates require to pay fees online using Debit Card / Credit Card / Net Banking etc. On successful submission of fees a confirmation page will pop out. You can print this page as a proof of "fees paid successfully". For exact fee amount see notifications

NATA Examination Pattern

NATA Entrance Examination shall be delivered in two parts. The first part is computer based online test while second part is paper based test. Examination pattern for both NATA First and NATA Second will be same. Following given details

Part A 135 Minutes Paper Based Test
  • Drawing in A4 Size 
  • 3 Questions of 35 marks, 35 marks and 55 marks
  • Total marks 125
Part B 45 Minutes Online Test: 
  • Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics (MCQ): 15 Questions x 1.5 Marks each
  • General Aptitude & Logical Reasoning (MCQ): 35 Questions x 1.5 Marks each
  • Total Marks: 75
15 minutes between two parts will be provided.

NATA Score

The NATA result sheet will be display the following:
1. Marks obtained in each Part of the exam and out of 200
2. Pass/Fail
Qualifying marks for NATA would be based on the following rules:
1. A minimum of 32 marks out of 125 marks must be secured in Part A (approximately 25%)
2. A minimum of 18 marks out of 75 marks must be secured in Part B (approximately 25% )
3. Overall qualifying marks (out of 200) would be based on post-exam statistics and at the discretion of
the Council.
A Candidate will not qualify in NATA unless he/ she satisfies all three conditions mentioned above. 

NATA Syllabus

NATA shall test your knowledge and skills in following study areas

Drawing Test
  • Ability to sketch a given object proportionately and rendering the same in visually appealing manner;
  • Visualising and drawing the effects of light on the object and shadows cast on surroundings;
  • Sense of perspective drawing;
  • Combining and composing given three dimensional elements to form a building or structural form;
  • Creating interesting two dimensional composition using given shapes and forms;
  • Creating visual harmony using colours in given composition;
  • Understanding of scale and proportions;
  • Drawing from memory through pencil sketch on themes from day to day experiences. 
PCM and General Aptitude
There shall be 50 questions for which four options will be given. Out of the four options, only one option is correct and the correct response will yield 1.5 marks. There is no negative marking. 

NATA Test Dates and Registration Deadlines

For latest dates and deadlines of NATA (National Aptitude Test in Architecture) see notifications

Colleges accepting NATA Score for Admission

Architecture Colleges and University departments across India accept NATA Test score for admission to B.Arch programme. See here complete list of architecture colleges accepting NATA score.

Connect me with the Top Colleges